Nigeria Becomes 107th WTO member to ratify the Trade Facilitation Agreement (TFA)

by Bamidele Ogunberu Last updated on April 13th, 2017,

The WTA now needs only three more ratifications from members  to achieve the two-third threshold that will bring the TFA into force. This follows Nigeria’s ratification of  the Trade Facilitation Agreement (TFA) on Friday. Nigeria’s instrument of acceptance was submitted to the WTO Friday by the Minister for Industry, Trade and Investment Dr. Okechukwu Enelamah. Ratification is a means of expression for a country to be legally bound by a treaty.

The TFA contains provisions for expediting the movement, release and clearance of goods, including goods in transit. It also sets out measures for effective cooperation between customs and other appropriate authorities on trade facilitation and customs compliance issues. It further contains provisions for technical assistance and capacity building in this area.

Nigeria joins Botswana, Niger, Togo, Côte d’Ivoire, Kenya, Zambia, Lesotho, Mali, Senegal, Swaziland, Gabon, Ghana and Mozambique, other African nations that have ratified the treaty. Beyond news. Connect. Empower your future.

Leave a Reply