2-1! England Over Tunisia FIFA World Cup Group G

by Samuel Abasi Last updated on June 24th, 2018,

A Harry Kane brace helped England beat Tunisia 2-1 on Monday in their FIFA World Cup Group G preliminary round football (soccer) match at the Volgograd Arena, Volgograd, Russia.

Harry Kane opened scoring for england from close range early in the 11th minute.

Following a tough start and conceding the first goal, Tunisia tried to get themselves back into the game. England were the better side in the opening period, but the Carthage Eagles’ penalty saw them level. England’s formation, with two strikers Kane and Sterling put the Tunisians on the back foot.

Sassi equalised from the spot after F. Ben Youssef was fouled by Walker in the 35th minute
Kane scored late by a late header injury time (91st minute) to put England in front 2-1. Standing alone at the far post, Kane guided a headed pass from Harry Maguire into the net. The winning goal came at the end of a drab second half in which Tunisia defended deep and nullified England’s attack.

There is a continuing theme of game-changing action coming in the closing stages of the action at Russia 2018 so far. A remarkable six goals (of 32 total, almost 20 per cent) have been scored from the 88th minute onwards, with four in stoppage time.

“We were playing against a highly-skilled and highly coordinated team in terms of their forward players. If we were to get a draw it would have been an excellent result for us. But hopefully this will lead to higher levels of concentration in the coming games.” Nabil Maaloul, Tunisia coach said after the game.

The Red Devils from Belgium also beat debutants Panama 3-0 on Monday in their FIFA World Cup Group G preliminary round football (soccer) match  at the Fisht Stadium in Sochi.

With Belgium comfortable winners over Panama, England slot into second behind them courtesy of Harry Kane’s brace, followed by Tunisia and Panama in that order.

A total of 32 national football teams are participating in the 2018 FIFA World Cup, held in 11 cities across Russia between June 14 and July 15.

The teams were divided into eight groups, with four in each, and the top two from their relevant groups will proceed to the next round, known as the playoffs or the knockout stage, to keep vying for the much-coveted FIFA World Cup Trophy.

Russia is holding its first time ever edition of the FIFA World Cup, which kicked off in Moscow with a spectacular opening show at the Luzhniki Stadium on the night of June 14.  The World Cup is being held at 12 arenas across 11 cities with the final set to be played at Luzhniki on July 15. The  11 host cities are Moscow, St. Petersburg, Sochi, Kazan, Saransk, Kaliningrad, Volgograd, Rostov-on-Don, Nizhny Novgorod, Yekaterinburg and Samara.


Samuel Abasi

Samuel Abasi

Staff Writer

Leave a Reply