Denmark 1-1 Australia FIFA World Cup Group C

by Samuel Abasi Posted on June 21st, 2018

Australia held Denmark to a 1-1 draw in their First stage FIFA World Cup Group C game at the Samara Arena  in the Russian city of Samara on Thursday. Denmark took an early lead after 7 minutes through a Christian Eriksen goal.

Denmark’s Christian Eriksen hit an absolute missile of a goal Thursday against Australia in the World Cup, but his celebration needs some work.

The midfielder scored in the seventh minute at Samara Arena in Samara, Russia, putting Denmark ahead 1-0 in the Group C match. Denmark and Australia ended up in a 1-1 draw during their second bout in the group stage.

Danish striker Nicolai Jorgensen brought down the ball at the top of the box during the play. He used a ridiculous touch to control a dart of a pass. He then used the outside of his right foot to leave the ball to an incoming Eriksen.

The midfielder stepped up and volleyed the feed with his left boot, drilling it into the upper-90 portion of the left side of the net. Aussie keeper Mathew Ryan guessed right on his save attempt, but was badly beaten by the screamer.

After making the shot, Eriksen attempted a tradition soccer celebration with a long slide on his knees. Instead of sliding along smoothly, his progress stopped abruptly as soon as he landed on his knees. He hopped up immediately, opting to be mobbed by his celebrating teammates.

Mile Jedinak tied the game with a penalty kick in the 38th minute for Australia. Denmark and Australia went into the half tied at 1-1. Not only the play on the pitch provoked mixed feelings, but the use of the VAR automated referee system again did.

Denmark was the better side early on but Australia battling back and finishing the game strongly. A point is not what either wanted, but is more useful for the Danes.

Denmark battles France in its final Group C clash at 10 a.m. Tuesday at Luzhniki Stadium in Moscow. Australia faces Peru at 10 a.m. Tuesday at Fisht Olympic Stadium in Sochi.

A total of 32 national football teams are participating in the 2018 FIFA World Cup, held in 11 cities across Russia between June 14 and July 15.

The teams were divided into eight groups, with four in each, and the top two from their relevant groups will proceed to the next round, known as the playoffs or the knockout stage, to keep vying for the much-coveted FIFA World Cup Trophy.

Russia is holding its first time ever edition of the FIFA World Cup, which kicked off in Moscow with a spectacular opening show at the Luzhniki Stadium on the night of June 14.  The World Cup is being held at 12 arenas across 11 cities with the final set to be played at Luzhniki on July 15. The  11 host cities are Moscow, St. Petersburg, Sochi, Kazan, Saransk, Kaliningrad, Volgograd, Rostov-on-Don, Nizhny Novgorod, Yekaterinburg and Samara.

Leave a Reply