France 1-0 Peru FIFA World Cup Group C

by Samuel Abasi Posted on June 21st, 2018

France beat Peru 1-0 in their First stage FIFA World Cup Group C game at the Ekaterinburg Arena in the Russian city of Ekaterinburg on Thursday.

Kylian Mbappe’s first goal in the World Cup handed the three points to France and a place in the next round. In the 34th minute 19-years-old Kylian Mbappé became the youngest player to score for France in world cup tournaments. Kylian Mbappe was born after France’s 1998 triumph in the World Cup competition.

France are unbeaten in World Cup matches when they have held a lead at half-time – winning 19 and drawing one on the 20 previous occasions.

France have reached the knockout stages at back-to-back World Cups for the first time since 1982 and 1986. Les Bleus finished fourth and third at those editions respectively

Peru have been eliminated from the World Cup by today’s loss.

This is the second game in Group C for both teams. Earlier, France beat Australia 2-1, while Peru lost to Denmark 0-1.

However, after Denmark and Australia drew a tie 1-1 earlier in the day in Samara, it is unclear which teams will enter the knockout stage of the 2018 FIFA World Cup.

With France now assured of a place in the next round from Group C either Denmark or Australia will join them after the final fixtures on 26 June.

A total of 32 national football teams are participating in the 2018 FIFA World Cup, held in 11 cities across Russia between June 14 and July 15.

The teams were divided into eight groups, with four in each, and the top two from their relevant groups will proceed to the next round, known as the playoffs or the knockout stage, to keep vying for the much-coveted FIFA World Cup Trophy.

Russia is holding its first time ever edition of the FIFA World Cup, which kicked off in Moscow with a spectacular opening show at the Luzhniki Stadium on the night of June 14.  The World Cup is being held at 12 arenas across 11 cities with the final set to be played at Luzhniki on July 15. The  11 host cities are Moscow, St. Petersburg, Sochi, Kazan, Saransk, Kaliningrad, Volgograd, Rostov-on-Don, Nizhny Novgorod, Yekaterinburg and Samara.

Leave a Reply