Giannis Antetokounmpo named MVP at NBA Awards: Complete list of winners

by Samuel Abasi Posted on June 25th, 2019

Santa Monica, California: Giannis Antetokounmpo of the Milwaukee Bucks won Most Valuable Player honors at the N.B.A awards on Monday night.

Antetokounmpo, a 24-year-old forward from Greece, beat out Paul George of Oklahoma City and James Harden of Houston, who won the award last year. Averaging 27.7 points and 12.5 rebounds a game, Antetokounmpo led his team to the best record in the regular season.

Tears rolled down Antetokounmpo’s cheeks as he thanked his teammates during his speech.

The Bucks’ Mike Budenholzer won Coach of the Year honors for the second time in his career. He guided Milwaukee to a 60-22 record in the regular season, his first with the franchise, leading the to the Eastern Conference finals, where it lost to the eventual N.B.A. champion, the Toronto Raptors.

Budenholzer earned his first Coach of the Year trophy with Atlanta in 2015. This year, he beat out Denver’s Mike Malone and Doc Rivers of the Los Angeles Clippers for the award.

Luka Doncic of the Dallas Mavericks was named the rookie of the year, accepting his trophy from R. J. Barrett, who went to the Knicks as the No. 3 pick in the league draft last week. Doncic, a 20-year-old small forward from Slovenia, was the No. 3 pick last year. The other finalists were Deandre Ayton of Phoenix and Trae Young of Atlanta.

Pascal Siakam of the Toronto Raptors won the Most Improved Player award. A 25-year-old from Cameroon. Siakam averaged 16.9 points and started 79 of 80 regular-season games for Toronto in his third year with the team. Siakam had 26 20-point outings this season after scoring 20 points in a game only once in his first two seasons. Siakam beat out De’Aaron Fox of Sacramento and D’Angelo Russell of the Nets. Siakam said his award could give hope to African children pursuing their dreams.

Most Valuable Player

Winner: Giannis Antetokounmpo (Milwaukee Bucks)
Paul George (Oklahoma City Thunder)
James Harden (Houston Rockets)

Rookie of the Year

Winner: Luka Doncic (Dallas Mavericks)
Deandre Ayton (Phoenix Suns)
Trae Young (Atlanta Hawks)

Coach of the Year

Winner: Mike Budenholzer (Milwaukee Bucks)
Michael Malone (Denver Nuggets)
Doc Rivers (Los Angeles Clippers)

Sixth Man Award

Winner: Lou Williams (Los Angeles Clippers)
Montrezl Harrell (Los Angeles Clippers)
Domantas Sabonis (Indiana Pacers)

Defensive Player of the Year

Winner: Rudy Gobert (Utah Jazz)
Giannis Antetokounmpo (Milwaukee Bucks)
Paul George (Oklahoma City Thunder)

Most Improved Player

Winner: Pascal Siakam (Toronto Raptors)
De’Aaron Fox (Sacramento Kings)
D’Angelo Russell (Brooklyn Nets)

NBA Cares Community Assist Award

Winner: Bradley Beal (Washington Wizards)
Jarrett Allen (Brooklyn Nets)
Mike Conley (Memphis Grizzlies)
Tobias Harris (Philadelphia 76ers)
LeBron James (Los Angeles Lakers)
Damian Lillard (Portland Trail Blazers)
Khris Middleton (Milwaukee Bucks)
Donovan Mitchell (Utah Jazz)
Dwight Powell (Dallas Mavericks)
Pascal Siakam (Toronto Raptors)

Twyman-Stokes Team-mate of the Year Award

Winner: Mike Conley (Memphis Grizzlies)
Steven Adams (Oklahoma City Thunder)
Jared Dudley (Brooklyn Nets)
Channing Frye (Cleveland Cavaliers)
Rudy Gay (San Antonio Spurs)
Udonis Haslem (Miami Heat)
Andre Iguodala (Golden State Warriors)
Kyle Korver (Utah Jazz)
Khris Middleton (Milwaukee Bucks)
JJ Redick (Philadelphia 76ers)
Garrett Temple (Los Angeles Clippers)
Thaddeus Young (Indiana Pacers)

Sportsmanship Award

Winner: Mike Conley (Memphis Grizzlies)
Steven Adams (Oklahoma City Thunder)
Harrison Barnes (Sacramento Kings)
Al Horford (Boston Celtics)
Khris Middleton (Milwaukee Bucks)
Kemba Walker (Charlotte Hornets)

Lifetime Achievement Award

Winners: Larry Bird, Magic Johnson

Sager Strong Award

Winner: Robin Roberts

Hustle Award

Winner: Marcus Smart (Boston Celtics)

Moment of the Year

Winner: Derrick Rose’s 50-point game against the Utah Jazz.

Executive of the Year

Winner: Jon Horst (Milwaukee Bucks)

Image: Antetokounmpo received 78 of the 101 possible first-place votes

Leave a Reply