Mexico 2-1 Korea Republic FIFA World Cup Group F

by Samuel Abasi Posted on June 23rd, 2018

Mexico beat Korea Republic 2-1 on Saturday in their FIFA World Cup Group F preliminary round football (soccer) match  at the Rostov Arena in Rostov-On-Don.

Carlos Vela converted a penalty after a H S Jang handball in the area for Mexico’s first goal in the 26th minute. 1-0 Mexico.

Hernandez doubled the lead with a 66th minute goal in the second half.  2-0 Mexico. Hernandez scored on this same date, 23 June, at the last World Cup in Brazil, when Mexico defeated Croatia 3-1. Javier ‘Chicharito’ Hernandez scores his fourth World Cup finals goal for Mexico, equalling Luis Hernandez as Mexico’s all-time top scorer at the World Cup.

Son scored an impressive injury time goal (99th minute), curling in a shot with his left foot into the far post from outside the penalty area. Mexico 2-1 Korea Republic.

Son is the fifth player to score for Korea Republic at multiple World Cups, after Park Jisung (3), Ahn Junghwan (2), Yoo Sangchul (2) and Hwang Sunhong (2).

Mexico have lost only one of their ten World Cup finals matches in which they were leading at half-time—a 3-1 defeat against Tunisia in Rosario on 2 June 1978. They had taken the lead in that game via an Arturo Vasquez penalty in the 45th minute.

Mexico shocked reigning champions Germany 1-0 in the teams’ first match of the tournament, while Korea Republic (South Korea) lost the game against Sweden 0-1.

Their 2-1 win over South Korea puts Mexico on the brink of qualifying for the knockout rounds. Mexico will now be guaranteed a place in the knockout phase if Germany fail to beat Sweden in Sochi tonight.South Korea are on the brink of elimination from the group stage after two games, which last happened 20 years ago at France 1998.

A total of 32 national football teams are participating in the 2018 FIFA World Cup, held in 11 cities across Russia between June 14 and July 15.

The teams were divided into eight groups, with four in each, and the top two from their relevant groups will proceed to the next round, known as the playoffs or the knockout stage, to keep vying for the much-coveted FIFA World Cup Trophy.

Russia is holding its first time ever edition of the FIFA World Cup, which kicked off in Moscow with a spectacular opening show at the Luzhniki Stadium on the night of June 14.  The World Cup is being held at 12 arenas across 11 cities with the final set to be played at Luzhniki on July 15. The  11 host cities are Moscow, St. Petersburg, Sochi, Kazan, Saransk, Kaliningrad, Volgograd, Rostov-on-Don, Nizhny Novgorod, Yekaterinburg and Samara.

Leave a Reply