Spain 1-0 Iran FIFA World Cup Group B

by Samuel Abasi Posted on June 20th, 2018

Spain beat Iran 1-0 in their first stage FIFA World Cup Group B match at the Kazan Arena in Kazan on Wednesday.

Spain forward Diego Costa scored the only goal of the match in the 54th minute. Silva made a magnificent pass to Costa inside. Costa received the ball, turned and Ramin trying to defend, rebounded the ball off Costa past Beiranvand.

It was Diego Costa’s third goal in two matches at this World Cup. Only Ronaldo has more goals at the current World Cup, with four. Costa has now scored nine goals in his last nine international starts for Spain

Even after the goal La Roja dominated possession while Iran remained dogged in defence.

Iran midfielder Saeid Ezatolahi Afagh thought he had equalized midway through the second half. However, it was later canceled out for offside, after the referee consulted the video assistant referee system, VAR.

Spain are unbeaten in their last 22 matches (W15-D7-L0), the longest active unbeaten run in international football.

Fernando Hierro’s side need to win by two goals to move ahead of Portugal in the group. The win brought Spain level on points with Portugal in Group B after Cristiano Ronaldo and his teammates defeated Morocco on the same score line. Portugal and Spain drew 3-3 in their tournament opener last week. But Iran could still go through depending on the results of the final group matches.

“We showed that we were ready to suffer and ready to compete. I felt we deserved a better result. There’s no doubt Spain play wonderful, stylish football but I thought we deserved more for the way we played. But congratulations to Fernando Hierro and Spain. We will learn a lot from this game. If you think of it like tennis, we had one match point today and we will have another against Portugal. Everything is still open. We are still alive and still dreaming.” Carlos Queiroz, Iran coach said after the match.

Morocco are bottom of the group without a point and have been knocked out of the tournament.

Spain will face Morocco, and Iran will take on Portugal in their final group games on June 25.

A total of 32 national football teams are participating in the 2018 FIFA World Cup, held in 11 cities across Russia between June 14 and July 15.

The teams were divided into eight groups, with four in each, and the top two from their relevant groups will proceed to the next round, known as the playoffs or the knockout stage, to keep vying for the much-coveted FIFA World Cup Trophy.

Russia is holding its first time ever edition of the FIFA World Cup, which kicked off in Moscow with a spectacular opening show at the Luzhniki Stadium on the night of June 14.  The World Cup is being held at 12 arenas across 11 cities with the final set to be played at Luzhniki on July 15. The  11 host cities are Moscow, St. Petersburg, Sochi, Kazan, Saransk, Kaliningrad, Volgograd, Rostov-on-Don, Nizhny Novgorod, Yekaterinburg and Samara.

Leave a Reply