7 Britons Of Nigerian Descent Win UK Parliament Seats

by Bamidele Ogunberu Posted on June 11th, 2017

Nigerians monitored the just concluded UK elections with a keen interest on the outcome for Britons of Nigerian descent seeking seats in the British Parliament. Among the winners in the election are seven British-Nigerians that won seats to represents their constituency in the British Parliament.

For British Prime Minister Theresa May’s Party the outcome was not so great. Before the election, May had a working majority of 17. When the House of Commons assembles next week, May will instead lead a minority government, with a majority of just 2, made up of her own 318 MPs and the DUPs 10. May announced Friday that she will form a new government, working with the 10-strong group of Democratic Unionist Party MPs from Northern Ireland.

British Prime Minister Theresa May’s two co-chiefs of staff quit Saturday as the fallout from the Conservative’s poor showing in this week’s general election continued. Nick Timothy and Fiona Hill who had been the main architects of May’s disastrous election campaign announced within minutes of each other that they were stepping down from their roles. Both had come under pressure from Conservative MPs to quit to avert May facing a leadership challenge that would threaten her future as prime minister.

Timothy, who was only appointed to the role last July, said in his resignation statement that he accepted the part he played in the results of the snap election.
Instead of the expected landslide victory May had expected, the Conservatives lost 13 seats and also the majority they held before the election, and its majority, leading to a “hung” parliament.

Timothy’s colleague as joint chief if staff, Fiona Hill, released a brief statement following her resignation from her role at 10 Downing Street.
She said: “It’s been a pleasure to serve in government, and a pleasure to work with such an excellent prime minister. I have no doubt at all that Theresa May will continue to serve and work hard as prime minister, and do it brilliantly.”

Among the winners in the election are Seven British-Nigerians that won seats to represent their constituency in Parliement.

In the election which saw 7 British-Nigerians winning seats in various constituencies in the United Kingdom.

Chi Onwurah was the first result to be announced after the election results start trickling in. Onwurah won to represents Newcastle-Central at the parliament.

Onwurah was born Alril 12, 1965 and was first elected on the platform of the Labour Party in 2010.

Others include Kate Ofunne Osamor was elected member to represent Edmonton in the Parliement.

British-Nigerian Chuka Umunna was also elected to represent Streatham, Bim Afolami to represent Hitchin and Harpenden.

Among them are Olukemi Adegoke to represent Saffron Walden and the last of the seven is Fiona Onasanyo who won the seat to represent Peterboborough constituency.

The seven British-Nigerians are all of Nigerian descents.

The election left a historical mark as the first parliament with most women majority in the UK law makers chamber.

Leave a Reply