Economic Community Of West African States Admits Morocco, A North African Country

by Kim Boateng Last updated on April 3rd, 2018,

The West African Economic Community ECOWAS has approved at least in principle the request by North African
country Morocco for full membership of the west african economic community. This was confirmed by the President of the Ivory Coast Alasanne Quattara in a statement to journalists in which he said that a decision had been agreed in
principle but that the details still had to be worked out.

The decision to approve Morocco’s membership of the Economic Comminity of West African States was reached in spite of the fact that the King of Morocco, King Mohammed V1 did not show up at the summit of the heads of the Economic Community of West African states. He pulled out of the summit at the last minute because he did not want to be there together with Israeli Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu. His absence was a protest move, because the ECOWAS community had invited Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu. Morocco boycotted the summit because Morocco has no diplomatic ties with Israel.

Morocco’s boycott notwithstanding, Mr. Benjamin Netanyahu Israeli Prime Minister was at the last summit of ECOWAS heads of states. Addressing the leaders of ECOWAS at the summit, Mr. Benjamin Netanyahu the Israeli Prime
Minister said Israel is coming back to Africa and Africa is coming back to Israel. He stressed his love for Africa describing Afica as a continent on the rise with huge present and future potential.

It is noteworthy that this year in January Morocco also rejoined the African Union after a long absence. Morocco had been absent from the African Union since 1984 over it’s position on the the independence of Western Sahara, which was at odds with the official position of the African Union and the United Nations.

It’s return to the African Union and now entering the Economic Community Of West African States has not changed Morocco’s stand on Western Sahara. Morocco made that very clear recently, stating that it would never seed Western
Sahara. Morocco recently announced that Western Sahara is part of its historic territory and will always be so and that they would always defend Western Sahara as part of Morocco. Of course Western Sahara has been Morocco’s albatross in it’s relations with the rest of the African Union and also with the international community, the United Nations.

ECOWAS Heads of government who met recently in Liberia said that the admission of Morocco has been approved in principle but the details would be ironed out at a later date.

It is instructive to note that Morocco is not the only North African country that wants to join the Western African
Union. Tunisia has also applied, but Tunisia is not applying for full membership. Tunisia applied for an observer status with ECOWAS.

Like Morocco, Mauritania another North African country also wants to join the Economic Community of West
African states ECOWAS. The leaders of ECOWAS have indicated that later this year, Mauritania will be invited to the next summit of heads of states of the economy Community of West African states that will convene in the Republic of Togo in December this year. This has been officially confirmed by the leadership of the Economic Community of West African states.

Morocco’s application for membership is predicated on the statement by King Mohammed VI in which he simply said.

“I believe in Africa”

Nigeria Also Boycotted the ECOWAS Summit to Avoid Meeting Isreali Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu

Nigeria which has diplomatic relations with Isreal is believed to have boycotted Netanyahu and the summit because on holocaust remembrance day, Netanyahu chastised the world for turning a blind eye to the killing of jews in the South East. Nigeria’s boycott has been widely criticized.

About ECOWAS: The Economic Community of West African States

ECOWAS, the Economic Community of West African States is made up of 15 West African nations and the admission of
Morocco, a African country, will make it a 16 member nation body. it is instructive to note that none of these countries share a border with Morocco. The members of ECOWAS, the Economic Community of West African States
enjoy free trade and free movement of goods and movement of people within the community.

When all the political lenses are removed, it will be seen that Morocco’s entry is a wonderful thing to happen to ECOWAS and the African Union. King Mohammed V1 of Morocco is leading by example and without much noise or fanfare in paving the way for what hopefully will lead one day to an Africa without boundaries, for Africans. Inspite of all his flaws that are too numerous to list, that was the vision of former Libya strongman, Muammar Qaddafi. Africa without borders and for Africans as a vision, must not die with Qaddafi.

Leave a Reply